Election Results 1

At 9.55am Saturday morning the Mile End results came in. Shah Alam tops the poll with 2,315 for Tower Hamlets First. Labour’s David Edgar is second with 2,268 and Rachael Saunders squeezed back in in third place. Mohammed Shahid Ali for Tower Hamlets First came in soon after with 2,052. Motin-uz Zaman for Labour came a surprise fifth with 1801.

MILE END RESULTthumb_up_down

Election Candidate Party Votes %
Shah Alam Tower Hamlets First 2315 15.40% Elected
David Edgar Labour 2268 15.09% Elected
Rachael Saunders Labour 2139 14.23% Elected
Mohammed Shahid Ali Tower Hamlets First 2052 13.65% Not elected
Motin Uz-Zaman Labour 1801 11.98% Not elected
Mustak Syed Tower Hamlets First 1796 11.95% Not elected
Naomi Snowdon Conservative 597 3.97% Not elected
Mushtak Abdullah Conservative 571 3.80% Not elected
Andy Hallett Liberal Democrat 500 3.33% Not elected
Jewel Islam Conservative 446 2.97% Not elected
Hafiz Choudhury Independent 383 2.55% Not elected
Arzoo Miah Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition 165 1.10% Not elected

Share of the votes – Mile End

Full results from LBTH – 42 available seats

(Blackwall & Cubitt Town Ward did not take place on Thursday 22 May but will be decided at a by-election in the near future)


(click wards below
for detailed result)

Elected Candidates


Bethnal Green Amy Whitelock Gibbs Labour
Bethnal Green Shafiqul Haque Tower Hamlets First
Bethnal Green Sirajul Islam Labour
Bow East Amina Ali Labour
Bow East Marc Francis Labour
Bow East Rachel Blake Labour
Bow West Asma Begum Labour
Bow West Joshua Peck Labour
Bromley North Khales Uddin Ahmed Labour
Bromley North Mohammed Mufti Miah Tower Hamlets First
Bromley South Danny Hassell Labour
Bromley South Helal Uddin Labour
Canary Wharf Andrew George Wood Conservative
Canary Wharf Md. Maium Miah Tower Hamlets First
Island Gardens Andrew Cregan Labour
Island Gardens Peter Golds Conservative
Lansbury Ohid Ahmed Tower Hamlets First
Lansbury Rajib Ahmed Labour
Lansbury Shiria Khatun Labour
Limehouse Craig Aston Conservative
Mile End David Edgar Labour
Mile End Rachael Saunders Labour
Mile End Shah Alam  Tower Hamlets First 
Poplar Gulam Kibria Choudhury Tower Hamlets First
Shadwell Harun Miah Tower Hamlets First
Shadwell Rabina Khan Tower Hamlets First
Spitalfields & Banglatown Gulam Robbani Tower Hamlets First
Spitalfields & Banglatown Suluk Ahmed Tower Hamlets First
St Dunstan’s Ayas Miah Labour
St Dunstan’s Mahbub (Mamun) Alam Tower Hamlets First
St Katharine’s & Wapping Denise Jones Labour
St Katharine’s & Wapping Julia Louise Dockerill Conservative
St Peter’s Abjol Miah Tower Hamlets First
St Peter’s Clare Harrisson Labour
St Peter’s Muhammed Ansar Mustaquim Tower Hamlets First
Stepney Green Alibor Choudhury Tower Hamlets First
Stepney Green Oliur Rahman Tower Hamlets First
Weavers Abdul Chunu Mukit Labour
Weavers John Pierce Labour
Whitechapel Abdul Asad Tower Hamlets First
Whitechapel Aminur Khan Tower Hamlets First
Whitechapel Shahed Ali Tower Hamlets First


Result for LBTH Mayor

At around 2.30 am Saturday morning after a long day (& night) of counting Lutfur Rahman was declared Mayor of Tower Hamlets for a second term.

In the first preference count Lutfur Rahman polled 36,539 votes (43%) with John Biggs getting 27,643 (33%). As neither candidate reached over 50% the second preference votes were counted. In the second round of counting John Biggs managed to get 6,500 votes (88%) and Lutfur Rahman polled 856 (12%). So lets have a look at the score board……..

Final Result for the Mayor

Lutfur Rahman 37,395 votes

John Biggs 34,143


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One thought on “Election Results

  • Mile Ender

    Mile Enders:
    Have you forgotten who David Edgar is???
    He gave us EastendHomes and is responsible for transferring numerous other council estates to RSL’s when he was lead councillor for housing mid 2000’s. Without these transfers we would still have green space (and car parks) around our estates on Eric, Treby and Brokesley. We would not have a landlord going on about how residents are in the heart of everything they do when clearly they only do in own interest.
    So why did you vote for Edgar? To give him a chance round here to undo what he did? Let us request demolition of all the new build and going back to be Council owned.